Black & Decker cm2040 Review

Black & Decker cm2040 review (40V) – Black & Decker cordless lawn mower review

Black & Decker cm2040

Approx. USD $350 with battery and charger
7.5

Design

7.0/10

Power

7.0/10

Performance

6.0/10

Efficiency and Ease of Use

6.0/10

Durability

6.0/10

Ease of finding replacement parts

10.0/10

Customer Service from company

10.0/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros and Praises from buyers

  • Light
  • Easy to maneuver around lawn
  • Has 3 -in- 1 bagging, mulching and sideways discharge options
  • You can fold the handle over for more storage space
  • Good grass cut quality. The blades arrive sharpened
  • Sturdy blades
  • Comes with two 40v batteries so one can be charged while the other is running
  • Push button start option
  • One handle adjusts all four wheels
  • Quiet compared to gas mowers

Cons and complaints from buyers

  • Heats up
  • Short battery life
  • Bogs down in thick grass
  • Bogs down in tall grass
  • Plastic material does not seem to be very durable

Black & Decker CM2040 review was done here in October 2017 (Updated 2020) to see how well it performs among its competitors. The Black & Decker CM2040 is a cordless lawn mower, which is powered by 40-volt Lithium batteries but so is many others. Why would you choose Black and Decker CM2040 cordless lawn mower over the strong competition from GreenWorks, Kobalt and Ego? Let’s examine.

Read Black & Decker CM2040 Full Review 


These are the areas of major importance to you when purchasing a mower from Black & Decker or any other brand so these are what we focused on:

  1. Design
  2. Power and Performance
  3. Efficiency and ease of use
  4. Durability
  5. Ease of locating replacement parts
  6. Customer service from the company
  7. Value

Review – Product Information


Product: Black & Decker CM2040 40V Lithium 3-in-1 Cordless Mower, 20″

General Market Price: USD 350

Warranty: 2 years

Best Deal Online: Amazon or Home Depot

This Black & Decker CM2040 cordless mower has good and not so good qualities which I will be pointing out to you in a bit, but first, we like to show our readers a quick video overview of how the company meant for the mower to work, then we can go from there to kill your dreams….or confirm them.

Design – Was much thought placed into this mower’s design?


Specs on Mower:

You will need to watch it to understand the review so take a few minutes to do so

 

B&D created a pretty good mower but this design has some minor flaws.

The Good:

  • Light and easy to maneuver – 47lbs
  • Not very noisy. Your neighbors will not be complaining
  • Easy height adjustments – One handle adjusts all four wheels
  • Good variance in height adjustments for different levels of grass up to 4 inches.
  • The wheels are found closer to the center of the mower than the blades, therefore, you get some great edging done. Other mowers have wheels outside of the line of the blades and therefore you need to do a lot of edging
  • It comes with two 40v batteries so one can be charged while the other is running.
  • Easy to start. You simply press the button on the handle, then use your other hand to pull the starter handle.

The bad:

  • Plastic material does not seem to be very durable
  • Catcher is not attached close enough to the mower which may affect bagging
  • There is a built-in system that shuts off the mower when it hit a high grass area in a low height adjustment setting. It then takes some time before you can turn on the mower and get back to work.

 

Power and Performance – Can it power through your entire lawn /garden?


 

This mower was expected to perform very well as Black and Decker are known for producing quality products. However, it seems this guy only performs well on lawns of sizes 1/6 acres or less.

The Good:

  • Cuts well. The blades arrive sharpened and they are pretty sturdy.
  • Bagging, mulching and sideways discharge are satisfactory.

 

The bad:

  • Battery life sucks. Both batteries will die on your very small lawn then take 2-4 hours to charge, especially if you have plush, thick, healthy grass.
  • It does not handle thick or tall grass well. It bogs down, stalls and sometimes shuts off for a while.
  • The batteries will heat up easily in thick grass and the mower is programmed to shut off to get  them cooled off so if you often have overgrown grass, this mower might not be your guy

 

Efficiency and Ease of use – How hard do you need to work?


This mower is as easy to use as the next guy but it has some flaws in the efficiency department.

The good:

  • Removing the battery and charging it is simple.
  • Ergonomics are great. You will have no problem maneuvering this light mower around your lawn.
  • Fitting and removing the bag it is no trouble at all.
  •  Adjusting the handle height is made simple by the adjusters on the handle. You do not need to screw until it is tightened like most mowers. There is a handle to snap closed which immediately tightens the screw after adjusting your handle.
  • You can fold the handle over for storage space.

The bad:

  • Being a brushless motor, this mower should heat up less and functions more efficiently but it does not. It heats up easily and shuts down your mower
  • To get a good cut of well-grown lawn, you will have to start from the highest adjustment and then do second or third mow to get it down to a favorable height.

Here is a YouTube video of the mower in action…..

 

Durability – How long will your B&D electric mower last?


The mower decking, wheels, and blades seem fine. The motor is protected by built-in systems to shut down the mower if it is being strained so no worries there but according to other customer reviews on Amazon, the batteries will not last over a year. If you have one and your battery is doing fine, let me know in the comment section.

Ease of locating replacement parts – No trouble at all


 

At the very least, if the battery goes it is easily replaced. No problems here. Blades, batteries, chargers, and wheels can be found online at Home Depot, Amazon and eBay.

Customer service from the company 


Excellent

If you have any problems at all, company representatives are friendly and ready to help. Replacements and sent on time.

Value – Are you getting your money’s worth from B&D?


At approximately USD 340.00 on Amazon, this will only be valuable to you if you have a small lawn without much overgrowth. There is an upgrade to this mower, the Black and Decker CM2060 (review link) that will be much better for your small lawn and is a bit cheaper so take a look at that before buying this one. If you have a medium to a large lawn, you might want to go with one of our top five picks that can be seen in the “Top Reviews” section to the side of your screen. Full reviews are available for each so take a look.

I hope this was helpful. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions about this or any other cordless electric mower. We also take review requests.

 

Review Overview and Final Remarks 


  • Power
  • Design
  • Performance
  • Efficiency and ease of use
  • Durability
  • Ease of locating replacements for wearable parts
  • Value
  • Customer service support from company
3.8

Final Remarks

Would be such a great mower if the batteries were more efficient and durable and also if the mower had a smart cut feature that allowed it to “rev up” in high grass instead of just shutting down. I guess that is why B&D created the 60V improved version, the cm2060. Review of the cm2060 coming soon so keep checking out the suggested post section below, as I will definitely drop the cm2060 review down there for you when it becomes available.

2 thoughts on “Black & Decker cm2040 review (40V) – Black & Decker cordless lawn mower review”

  1. Well, my search continues for an electric lawn mower. Right off the bat, I have to say that the battery life concerns me on this unit. I am also really bad about letting my lawn grow too tall, then my mower gets clogged up. I have to unclog it, clean out under the blade, give it a few tugs, and it will start again. You mentioned that this unit will shut down for a time when the batteries get too hot. I am not sure if that will work for me. I will check out some of your other reviews and see if I can find a model that might work better for me. Thanks for your thorough and honest review.

    Reply
    • You’re Welcome. I hope you find something soon. We reviewed some great mowers here so I am sure you will find one in no time. If not, just contact us and let us know some more about your lawn and your budget and we will suggest some for you. 

      Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.