Ryobi 20-Inch 40V Self Propelled Lawn Mower Review

40V 20 IN. BRUSHLESS SELF-PROPELLED MOWER

USD 349.00 at Home Depot
8.8

Design

8.4/10

Power

8.4/10

Performance

8.6/10

Efficiency and Ease of Use

7.6/10

Durability

8.0/10

Warranty and Support

10.0/10

Ease of finding replacement parts

10.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros and Praises from buyers

  • Self-Propelled
  • Adjustable Speed
  • Option to switch from self propelled to push
  • Height adjustment-One handle adjust all wheels
  • Light
  • Quiet
  • Folding feature allowing for easy storage
  • Easily Assembled
  • Great cutting width (20")
  • Comes with bag and chute

Cons and complaints from buyers

  • Plastic deck
  • No ball bearings- wheels
  • No Sideways discharge option
  • Battery dies fast in wet or tall grass
  • Does not mulch wet grass well

This Ryobi is one of the best 20-inch 40V self-propelled mowers on the market today.  It is said to be light, easy to use, has a great cut quality and cutting width among other things so we were very excited to finally do the Ryobi 20″ 40V self-propelled lawn mower review to see how it compares to the other 40V mowers.

We hoped that it would perform better than the Ryobi 40V push mower that was out for quite some time before this one and that, forgive me for saying, but awful 48 V self-propelled mower they had to recall.

Many may wonder, Is this another waste of hard-earned cash? Well first, let us talk about what you should expect from your self propelled mower.

What should you be looking at when purchasing a good self-propelled electric mower?

Well, these are the factors that must be closely examined to make a good purchase:

  1. Design
  2. Power and Performance
  3. Efficiency and ease of use
  4. Durability
  5. Ease of acquiring replacement parts
  6. Warranty and quality of customer service
  7. Is this mower right for your lawn type?
  8. Overall value for your bucks!

Now, look at what we found out about each area mentioned above and tell me if this mower should be in your garage this mowing season.

C-ELMR Product Review 100028


Product: Ryobi 20-inch 40V 5Ah SELF-PROPELLED MOWER #RY40190-Y

Update – New 6Ah model available with longer run time. Linked below as Home Depot

General Market Price: $ 450.00

Warranty: 5 years

Best  Places to Buy Online: Amazon or Home Depot

C-ELMR Rating:

Company Claims:


What’s supposed to be in the Box?

Click on the images to see detailed specs and current product prices

  1. (x1) Mower-Ryobi 20″ 40V SELF-Propelled MOWER #RY40190-Y

2. (x1)Battery- Ryobi 40V, 5Ah  high capacity lithium-ion battery 

3. (x1) ChargerRyobi 40V Lithium-ion battery charger

Others:

  • Extra blade
  • Grass Catcher Bag
  • Start Key
  • Mulch Plug
  • Operator’s Manual

COMPANY CLAIMS…


Does the mower add up to what the company said? Take a look at what they said below:

Now take a look at the areas we reviewed below…

Design – Very user friendly but 1 drawback


Ryobi-40v-self-propelled-mower-review-specs
Ryobi-40v-self-propelled-mower-review-specs

This Ryobi self-propelled mower already has a plus above most other electric mowers because it is self-propelled.  Added to that, it was designed with comfort in mind. It is easy to use and changing wearable parts are standard. It is a big improvement from the previous Ryobi 40V push mower. While I like most aspects of the design, it had a few negatives. One being, for 1/2 acre – large lawn owners, you might have to get an extra battery to eliminate charging time between mowing sessions.

Take a look at the feedback below:

The Good – Positive customer feedback:

  • The height of the mower handle can be easily adjusted to match that of the user. You’ll know how important this is when you’ve had a backache from bending and pushing a heavy mower.
  • The mower has a very simple push to start mechanism, conveniently placed as shown below:
  • With a brushless motor, the Ryobi 20″ 40V Self Propelled Mower allows users to use its battery power effectively without the mower overheating.
  • Rear-wheel drive feature gives increased control for easily mowing in straight lines. It also makes it more effective to mow over slopes/hills.
  • Folding option (as shown below) allows you to save space in the over-stacked garage.
  • Adjusting the mower height is simple; you only need to adjust one lever to adjust all 4 wheel heights.
  • Comes with a 7 level cutting height adjustment from 1 1/2 inches to 3 3/4 inches.
  • You get great cutting width – 20 inches
  • It is a lot lighter than most electric lawn mowers at 44.7 lbs
  • Has lights for mowing at nights.
  • Batteries and chargers can be used interchangeably for all Ryobi 40V Lithium-ion battery-powered products.

The bad:

  • The plastic deck will get damaged by the blade overtime if you push up against trees at the side of the mower. We all do that sometimes to cut down on the amount of edging we need to do but be aware when using this mower!
  • Need an extra battery if you are mowing more than 1/3 acre with thick or tall grass.
  • No Sideways discharge option
  • No ball bearings so spraying WD-40  around wheels now and then wouldn’t hurt.
  • No option to turn off the lights.

Power  


This mower is quite powerful for the price. With the 40V 5Ah battery, you cut to maintain your 1/3 acre lawn without any problems if you keep your grass at a moderate height. You will get approximately 30 minutes run time from your mower before it needs a recharge.

Performance-What should you expect from this Ryobi 40 Volts Self-propelled Lawn Mower?


 

The Good:

  • Great quality cut. You get an even finish without patches of grass left behind for you to go over.
  • You can power through tall, thick, wet grass without compromising your cut quality but you have to go slower. If you use maximum speed, your grass will be massacred.
  • Rear-wheel drive makes mowing over slopes a breeze.
  • Works quietly, which is amazing.

You will, however, have some problems…

  • Not excellent at mulching
  • Your battery will die faster when cutting very tall, thick grass.
  • You can only fill half the bag before it gets bogged down and needs emptying.

Efficiency and ease of use


  • As mentioned before, the mower has a very conveniently placed, simple push to start mechanism.
  • The height of the handle can be adjusted to match that of the user so your back will not ache to bend over to mow for half an hour.
  • Changing cutting heights is made simple with a single handle adjuster instead of going through the stress of adjusting twice or even worse, all four wheels individually.
  • Changing speed is made simple with the speed control within the grasp of your thumbs while holding the self-propulsion handle so you do not have to remove your hand from the self-propulsion handles to change speed.
  • Another efficient feature is that the mower powers up when it senses thick grass and cuts down to conserve battery in more manageable areas.

The bad

The battery takes up to three hours to charge. So unless you are the type to take three-hour breaks between mowing sessions, if you have a lawn bigger than 1/4 – 1/3 acres, you might want to get a second battery to avoid this annoying wait time.

Durability


A plastic deck is usually not my go-to choice. I would much prefer a steel deck but they come with the disadvantage of being heavy.

This lightweight plastic material has not gotten any complaints and seems to be passing the test of time even when stones are thrown against it during mowing. So this feature should not be a problem.

Otherwise, the mower seems very sturdy and the wheels and battery are of good quality.  Yes, I had to put BATTERY bold letters. I don’t know if you know this, but this company had some major battery issues with the 48 V self-propelled mower that they had on the market before recalling it. This battery actually comes with the extra feature of cooling down between recharges so it is less likely to get damaged. Good one Ryobi. We see you out there trying to satisfy us and its working.

Ease of acquiring replacement parts


All available online on Amazon, eBay, and Home Depot. Call the company if you need any additional parts.

Warranty


You will get five (5) years warranty on the mower if you are using it for regular home purposes. This is a pretty good warranty compared to the other mowers out there.

What most people don’t know is that you will only get 90 days warranty if you are using it for commercial purposes.

For the battery, you get three (3) years warranty which again is very good.

Comprehensive Video Review


Final Thoughts on Ryobi 20″ 40 V 5Ah  Self Propelled Mower – Value for your bucks?


This is definitely one of the better mowers out there. Ryobi did a great job on this one for the price it is being sold. A few hiccups here and there but nothing that would hamper your experience too much.

Ryobi-40v-self-propelled-mower-review

This Mower is Recommended For:


This mower is not for you if:

  1. You desire a sideways discharge option. This mower does not have that option
  2. You have a lawn bigger than 1/3 acres and you do not plan on buying an extra battery and you do not intend to take a 3 hr break between charges.
  3. You have a 1/4 –  1/3 acre lawn that you do not mow often, with tall, thick and often wet grass.  If so, you will need an extra battery to get through the entire lawn uninterrupted by a dead battery.

This Ryobi 40V 5Ah mower is for you if:

  1. You have 1/3 acres of lawn or less (or you should purchase an extra battery)
  2. You have other Ryobi 40 V tools, always a good idea to stick with the line if its a good one. That way you can use the batteries interchangeably. Very economical.
  3. You have problems with your back and cannot manage to push around a heavy mower.
  4. You have to lift your mower to the storage area and you have problems lifting a heavy load, this mower for you. Its plastic deck makes it very light compared to other steel deck mowers.
  5. You hate the noise of the usual gas mower, this is a relatively silent alternative. In fact, it sounds more like a loud toy car, definitely not like the usual community nuisance.
  6. If you mow at nights, the lights come in very handy
  7. You want to “Go Green” and leave the smelly gas mower behind, this is an Eco-friendly option.

These are the self-propelled mowers we recommend for larger lawns:

(Click to view Reviews)

  1. Ego 21″ 56V 7.5 Ah lawnmower
  2. Greenworks 80V self Propelled Lawnmower
  3. Best Mowers for large lawns

25 thoughts on “Ryobi 20-Inch 40V Self Propelled Lawn Mower Review”

  1. Thank you Crystal! Wonderful product!
    Finally, mowing can be made fun!
    The 40V 20 IN. BRUSHLESS SELF-PROPELLED MOWER will make my life easier and I will no longer disturb my neighbors- LITTLE NOISE.
    My son can mow the lawn with this light weight mower.

    Reply
  2. Wow very detailed descriptions. I have found answers to all my questions right here. Also the product looks very convenient.
    Thank you so much.

    Reply
  3. Hey lovely review…you convinced me of all the reasons I should get the Ryobi 20″ 49v mower…thank you🙂

    Reply
  4. Hi Crystal!
    Very informative review. Now my husband can’t stop talking about how much mowing is going to be easy and convenient! Not to mention, how money he’s going to save with his Ryobi 40V self propelled mower. We don’t need to wait on the lawn to “grow to the money’s worth”. No more gardner needed for the lawn! Thank God, no more early morning noise nor waking up to the smell of gasoline!
    Thanks for making us a confident buyer!

    Reply
  5. Awesome review. Extremely easy to understand. I was hooked when you mentioned that there was less noise to contend with when using the Ryobi 20-Inch 40V Self Propelled Lawn Mower compared to other gas mowers. Thank you.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome. That is one of the major advantages of going Green with your lawnmower. The noise from the regular gas mowers can be so frustrating, especially for the neighbors.

      Reply
  6. Thank you for such a well detailed review Crystal. I feel more confident purchasing one for my brother. He has been singing about this mower all year long 🙂

    Reply
  7. A self-propelled mower definitely seems to be a great option for a big lawn and multitasking. This review is clear and detailed, making the purchase process so much easier, thank you.

    Reply
  8. Hey,

    I have a question, is there a more recent Ryobi self propelled mower? Also, which other self propelled mower would would recommend?
    Thanks for a Great review by the way. Appreciate the videos.

    Reply
    • Hey Jaeda,
      Thank you for the feedback.
      To answer your question, there is another model, the Ryobi RY401120-Y. This has a 6 Ah battery which can mow up to a 1/2 acre lawn and it also features a sideways discharge and better mulching function. The review for this will be posted soon. The latest self-propelled mowers that Ryobi has up to this date are the Smart Trek line of cordless self-propelled mowers. One of the special feature of this line is that you do not have to manually adjust the speed, it adjusts to your walking pace. Reviews for this line also coming soon. They should be published within the next 7 days. We will send you an email update when they are ready.
      Hope this helps 🙂

      -Crystal

      Reply
  9. I want to surprise my husband with the Ryobi 40 V self propelled mower but before I do so I wanted to ensure I am making the right choice. I searched long and hard for an informative article on Ryobi 40 V self propelled mower but none explained it as simple as this. Thanks for the review, your points are excellent, and pros definitely outweigh the cons.

    Reply
    • Hey there!

      I think he will definitely appreciate the purchase as long as your lawn meets the requirement I mentioned above.

      On a side note, I find that even though most of my viewers are men, a lot of my viewers are actually women looking to switch out their husband’s noisy, smelly mower for the electric mowers. The men should take a hint lol.

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving your feedback. Much appreciated.

      Take care Kenice,

      -Crystal

      Reply
  10. I have been eyeing this mower for a little while now. Was thinking about getting it for my husband. Searched long and hard for an article that would make me feel better about spending that kind of money. Your article was detailed and informative, now I can make an informed decision.

    Reply
    • Hello Char,

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving your feedback on our Ryobi 40V self propelled mower review. Always appreciated. Very happy I could help you out with this decision. It is always hard to decide without actually seeing the product and testing it for yourself and since that option is rarely ever available it is always a good idea to read reviews before jumping in and making that big purchase. Congrats on being one of the smart ones 😉 This mower comes with a 90 day return policy also, so if you don’t like it, you can always return it.

      Take care Char,

      -Crystal

      Reply
      • 90 whole days, wow! I am certain my husband would love to hear that, I read your Ryobi RY14110 review just as I read this Ryobi 40 V review, I was not sure about the differences. The warranty and support on the Ryobi 40 V and the ease of finding parts are what are most intriguing to me. We have a big lawn and have had many issues finding replacement parts for our old mower.

        Reply
        • I provided some links on the replacement parts on Amazon and Home Depot within the article. You can have a look at those. I haven’t gotten whiff of anyone complaining about replacement parts so you should be fine in that department. To answer your Question about the Ryobi RY14110, that mower was a disaster where the battery was concerned. Ryobi did their homework and came out with a more durable battery for this self propelled mower. It still lags on charging time to allow the battery to cool down before charging up but that is a smart protective feature by Ryobi and a lot better than having a damaged battery shortly after your warranty runs out. Like I mentioned in the review, if you have a larger lawn you should really get and extra battery or just go with one of the big guys like the Ego 56V self propelled mower which is a beast. We love it. You can take a look at that review next if your lawn is big or thick or rarely maintained. If not, its not necessary to spend the extra money to get the Ego.

          I hope I was able to clarify things for you. Let me know if you have any other questions okay? Always happy to help my readers 🙂

          -Crystal

          Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.