Snapper XD 82V MAX Cordless Electric 21-Inch Self-Propelled Lawn Mower Review

Snapper XD 82V MAX Cordless Electric 21-Inch Self-Propelled Lawn Mower Review

Snapper XD 82V MAX Cordless Electric 21-Inch Self-Propelled Lawn Mower

USD 600
9.2

Design

9.0/10

Power

9.0/10

Performance

9.4/10

Efficiency and Ease of Use

9.4/10

Durability

10.0/10

Ease of locating replacement parts

8.6/10

Customer Service and Support

8.8/10

Value

9.4/10

Pros and Praises from buyers

  • Eco-friendly
  • Clean cut
  • 2 batteries
  • steel deck
  • 3-in-1 cutting options
  • Self-propelled
  • Durable
  • Ergonomic Handles
  • One handle adjust all four wheel heights
  • Brushless motor and lithium ion batteries

Cons and complaints from buyers

  • Heavier than some electric mowers
  • Only adequate mulching
  • Hard to turn in self-propel mode
  • Cannot find replacement blades online
  • Price

This Review of the Snappr XD 82 Volt 21-inch Self Propelled Lawn Mower was not sponsored by Snapper. We decided to review this Snapper XD mower after seeing it on Amazon and thinking, “hmmm, this looks good, let’s find out how true the Snapper company claims are.”

We reviewed the Snapper XD push mower before and thought it was pretty good but what about this self-propelled model?

Is this electric lawn mower right for you? Well This Snapper XD self-propelled mower is in the price range of the best electric self-propelled mowers we reviewed here so far, the EGO select cut 21″ 56V 7.5 Ah self-propelled Lawn Mower, so we hope it will do well.

Let me walk you through the full experience that you will have with your Snapper XD self propelled mower from the moment you take it out of the box to time your battery decides to die then you can answer for yourself with confidence “YES” or “NO” .

Be sure to let me know in the comment section below. We love to hear from our readers!

Full Product Review


Product: Snapper XD 82-Volt MAX Cordless Electric 21 in. Self-Propelled Lawn Mower Kit with (2) 2.0 Batteries & (1) Rapid Charger

Model#: 1687914

Model Name: SXD21SPWM82K

Company: Snapper

Price: USD 600

Best place to buy online:  The Home Depot* OR Amazon 

Warranty: 5 years on mower, 2 years on battery

Special feature:  Self Propelled

If you are one of our regular readers, you already know we always review the ten pillars of any good lawn mower purchase, observable features and not just the specs on the mower. Specs sometimes lie! The ten pillars include:

  1. Design
  2. Power
  3. Performance
  4. Efficiency and ease of use 
  5. Durability
  6. Ease of locating replacements for wearable parts
  7. Complaints & Praises from buyers 
  8. Warranty
  9. Customer service support from the company
  10. Overall Value

Now let us jump right into the review.

snapper XD 82V self-propelled mower -unboxing22

As usual, before we start, we like to show you what the company promised its customers from the mower then we will take a look at how well those expectations played out or if there were some inconsistencies.

Take a look at this video I found that Snapper made to introduce this Snapper XD 82-Volt MAX Cordless Electric 21 in. Self-Propelled Lawn Mower Kit


Now, let’s dissect.

Design – The good, the bad and the ugly.


While we liked a lot of things about the design of this mower, it had its drawbacks also. If you are coming from a gas mower, this will be a joy to use. No fumes, spark plugs, filters, gas, oil, and no cranking up to start.

It comes almost fully assembled. Your only job after purchasing this Snapper 82V self-propelled mower is to attach the handle. Your hands are the only tools required. Simply align the upper and lower handle then fit the bolts into the holes. Next, use the knobs to tighten the bolts and you are ready to go.

Next, we want to charge our batteries for 30 minutes each or until you see the battery indicator giving 4 green lights. All we have to do is plug the charger into an outlet and securely insert our battery and you’ll see it light up green to indicate the level of charge we have going.

After this, you now have the option of bagging, mulching, or side discharge. So all you need to do is attach whichever one you’re going for today.

Next, you adjust your cutting height using a single lever adjustment handle which adjusts all four wheels. You have 7 height options.

Finally, Install one of the batteries in the battery housing. Ensure you see the release button snap in place and if not, just push the battery back a bit further until it does and you are ready to go.

Now let’s dissect each of these design features and weigh the pros and cons.

The Start options and handle controls

Now that you are ready to mow, you push the start button, pull the bail switch, and go. To switch to self-propelled mode, just pull the self-propelled lever behind the handle.

Pros:

Convenient Start option – Push-button start option is a joy compared to the cranking.

Speed control allows you to modify the speed to your pace close to the handle. To increase your speed, pull the variable speed control lever towards the rabbit Symbol. To decrease your speed, push the variable speed control lever towards the Turtle Symbol. Very clever Snapper.

Major Cons

None

Minor Cons

Self-propel trigger handle is placed slightly too far from the handlebar so you have to remove your hand from the handle to grab the starter or just use your other hand to pull it closer then hold. A minor inconvenience in the ergonomics.

The attachments

Mulching plug and chute are both fine – easily attached and easily removed.

Bag

Pros:

The large 1.6-bushel bag reduces the need to empty ever so often. However,

Cons:

Hard to tell when the bag is full since it is not see-through and there is no load sensing technology present. Mower bogs down when it is full and this is your indicator. Not very convenient.

The deck

Pros 

Steel deck- Very durable

Major Cons

Though the Snapper XD is lighter than a gas mower at 81lbs, the steel deck makes it a lot heavier than other electric mowers of similar performance. Now you might be saying well this is a self-propelled mower so where is the problem? But for people who are getting this to ease the strain on their backs etc, the mower might be uncomfortable to take to and from storage when compared to lighter electric mowers.

The wheels

Pros:

Sturdy material

Nice grooves for maneuverability, no dragging.

Big rear wheels for a decent drive

Cons:

None found

The height adjustments

As I mentioned above, there are 7 positions that you can choose from between 1 3/8 inches and 3 3/4 inches.

Pro:

This should be adequate because the average lawn should be between 2 inches and 3 1/2 inches (5 cm to 8.3 cm) during summer and between 1 1/2 inches to 2″ (3.8 to 5 cm) during the cooler months.

Height Adjustments

  • 1st position – 1 3/8 inch
  • 2nd position – 1 7/8 inch
  • 3rd position – 2 1/8 inches
  • 4th position – 2 5/8 inches
  • 5th position – 3 inches
  • 6th position – 3 3/8 inches
  • 7th position – 3 3/4 inches

Cons:

There have been complaints from other customers that the front wheel height does not adjust high enough to even out with the rear when going through tall grass at very high adjustment hights from 3 and up.

The blade

Pro:

Metal blade – Sturdy

Length – 20-21 – inches offers good cutting width for faster mowing.

Arrives sharpened and ready to cut

Con

Single blade

The batteries and charger pack

Pro:

Lithium-ion batteries are known for longer life than the lead-acid batteries found in some electric mowers.

Powered by Briggs and Straton – Known for quality

Battery protective preset- The charger has a low voltage charging preset where if you leave your battery without charging for a while, the charger automatically goes into slow charging mode. For this charging session, you can give up on mowing for the day because your battery will now take 20 hours instead of the regular 30 minutes to charge. While the wait might be a bother, your battery life expectancy will increase and the next charge will return to 30 minutes.

Comes with (2) 2Ah batteries but the mower is compatible with the 4Ah as well as 5Ah batteries that Snapper has available for larger lawns.

Cons:

Batteries are very expensive so even if you want to pick up an extra battery for a larger lawn, your pockets will feel it.

The motor

Pros:

1200 Watt Brushless motor technology increases motor life, efficiency and decreases the chance of starting a fire via sparks compared to brush motor.

Power – Torque of gas?


Not quite. Though it is a 1200 Watt motor, a lot of other factors re the mechanics of the motor would come into play to arrive at a great enough spin to efficiently power through with a clean-cut and deliver efficient mulching. Let us discuss this further under “Performance” and you will understand what I mean.

Performance


This mower is on the higher end when it comes to price so we expect nothing short of excellence here. What did we get?

You will get 20 -30 minutes run time from the mower depending on if you mow using the self propel feature, your grass is wet, thick or overgrown or the terrain has many slopes. The maximum recommended slope hight is 15 Degrees.

If you have a flat lawn, grass that is dry and not too thick or tall, you can expect your 30 minutes from a fully charged battery.

Bagging and side discharge

The mower does a pretty decent job at bagging and side discharge but as I mentioned above, when the bag gets heavy you will notice that your mower is bogging down so empty and continue.

Mulching

Pro:

Does well on dry grass. You might have to do a double-take if you have a lot of leaves piled up.

Con:

Some wet leaves will be left behind. This mower is just not powerful enough to suck all of those in.

Self Propelled mode

Pro:

Great cut quality in the self-propel mode at a slower pace but

Con:

Faster speeds will compromise cut quality in tall or thick grass so you will have to settle for a day of slow mowing if you want to use the self-propelled feature for this lawn type.

Efficiency and Ease of use


How do we maintain the snapper XD self-propelled mower?

If you are coming from a gas mower, maintaining an electric mower will be easy as pie. All you have to do after each use is clean the deck and charge the batteries. Then once per year, you sharpen your blade. That’s it!

To clean the deck, just use a damp cloth.

No need to winterize. Just store your mower in the garage away from corrosive material such as fertilizers and insecticides.

Keep the batteries in a cool and dry place and charge them at least once every 2-3 months.

No cord so mowing is complete without obstacles.

Con:

One con that we found was that when turning sharp corners, you have to release the self propel lever, otherwise, most times your wheels will stick. It can get annoying to keep switching.

Amazon customer testimonial – Verified Purchase

Durability


This we can depend on. Snapper has done its job where durability is concerned.

The deck is made from 14-Guage steel

The batteries and motor are powered by Briggs and Straton.

The handles, wheels and blade attachments look very sturdy

There haven’t been any complaints from buyers re the durability of the mowers so far

Is is easy to find replacement parts online?

Batteries and chargers, yes. Blades, no.

I have not tried to purchase any replacement parts but there are complaints online that it is a struggle to find replacement blades so I searched, and couldn’t find any. You have to call Snapper and have them send you to the nearest dealer.

Warranty


For domestic use, the Snapper XD 82V self-propelled mower comes with 5 years warranty on the mower and 2 years warranty on the batteries. This is pretty decent. Most companies come with 3 years on the mower and 1 year on the battery.

For commercial use, you get 90 days on the mower and nothing on the batteries.

The only problem is…

Customer Service 


From what I have seen online, some customers have complained that it is hard to get to an actual person and when they do, it is hard to get replacements for damaged parts such as this customer below.

Value


If you are looking for a good electric mower with the added benefit of self-propulsion then Snapper XD could be the mower for you but at a price just shy of 600 USD, it is a bit on the expensive side. If we consider the durability and low maintenance cost of the mower then we’re winning in the end but for now, all I can say is that I hope the prices will drop.

My final opinion


What really matters in any mower is that it can produce a good quality cut for your lawn, function in the way the company said it would, and then last a long time doing so. Then you can say you got your money’s worth. If you were wondering if the Snapper XD self-propelled mower is a good purchase, well yes it is, but only for certain people.

Who would I recommend this mower for?


This mower is for you if:

You have a lawn of up to 1/ 4 acre

Your lawn is relatively flat (less than 15 Degree slopes)

You are looking for an Eco-friendly, durable alternative to your gas mower

You have trouble lugging around a push mower

This mower is not for you if:

Your answer is no to the first two above

You have trouble lifting heavy weights and you need to lift the mower to the garage.

You do not live near a dealer

If this is the right mower for you, check out the best prices we found online by clicking on the seller of your choice below:

Hot right now:

Amazon dealer with the best price and free delivery

Home Depot currently has a discount on this mower plus free delivery

Related Video

Snapper XD 82V MAX Cordless Electric 21-Inch Self-Propelled Lawn Mower Review
  • Power
  • Design
  • Performance
  • Efficiency and ease of use
  • Durability
  • Ease of locating replacements for wearable parts
  • Value
  • Customer service support from company
4.6

Summary

This Snapper XD 21″ 82V self-propelled mower has good power, performance, efficiency, and durability however there were a few noteworthy drawbacks as mentioned in the full review. I would recommend this mower for anyone with a lawn less than 1/4  acres looking to switch from a gas mower and has a budget of just below $600.  

Sending
User Review
5 (1 vote)

19 thoughts on “Snapper XD 82V MAX Cordless Electric 21-Inch Self-Propelled Lawn Mower Review”

  1. greeting
    i have a very long and sloping yard. When the mower goes downhill it is very easy, but very difficult when pulling the mower uphill. I currently use a regular motor mower weighing about 13 kg which is not easy when going uphill. I see that your reviews are very good. Can you recommend something that would solve this problem?
    thanks
    Alexander

    Reply
    • Hi alexander,

      So your options are either get a lighter mower like the Sun Joe variety or get yourself a self-propelled mower like this one or the EGO. The EGO is much lighter than this Snapper. 

      Also, remember to never mow against the slope. Go parallel with it not perpendicular. So basically you need to be driving sideways and not up the hill.

      Hope this helps. Thanks for dropping by

      -Crystal 

      Reply
  2. Thank you. That was a very thorough and well thought out review. I have always had a gas propelled mower and never tried electric or battery-powered mowers. I was afraid the just wouldn’t have enough power. My lawn is about 1/3 acre and very flat. A battery-powered mower after reading your review might be an alternative. Thanks again for your article.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome. 

      I would like everyone to switch to electric mowers but that is just me being the tree hugger that I am. I am happy to see the electric mower innovators coming up with powerful mowers to help me in my “Quest to convert the world”  😀

      See ya on the greener side 

      Thanks for the feedback

      Reply
  3. Thanks for such a complete review of the lawn mower.  You gave me so much information that I had never thought of about lawn mowing.  It seems like a terrific mower with only a few minor faults.  I don’t even know if you could call them faults though, more of inconveniences right? Does one really need 7 height adjustments? I’m just asking!  

    With this pandemic, I’m looking to broaden my general knowledge so I decided to peruse your article.  I’m glad I did, it made me think about things I never thought of before.  I would think 3 batteries seems excessive and inconvenient, but then again, my lawn is small enough to be cut with a weed whacker in 20 minutes!

    All kidding aside, this was a very informative and complete review of a terrific lawn mower.  I don’t use a lawn mower, but I now know what I should consider when buying one.  Thanks for the info and well done!

    Reply
    • You’re Welcome. 

      Re the height adjustments, it is recommended that you only chop a certain amount off your grass at each mowing session so the different height adjustments allow for those considerations during the different seasons and also for individual preferences.

      Also, I must say, we are also advocating for the switch from Gas to electric lawn care equipment so if your whacker is gas-powered, might I suggest taking a look at the electric variety for when you are ready to get a new one?

      Click here to view electric weed whacker options

      Thanks for the feedback and I hope you and your family are safe in this global crisis.

      -Crystal

      Reply
  4. Your review is professional. It left nothing untouched. You said sometimes specs lie but the ten pillars of any good lawn mower catch in deceit left. We have a lawn mower we have used for years, but it started misbehaving and have been searching for a lawn mower that can replace it.

    This cordless electric self-propelled lawn mower is interesting, actually, it would not catch our attention but the review lays bare everything about it. One thing that is the real con in an electric mower is the battery. This is good for my lawn size. At least the mower tops our list, let us see what decision will be made for it. Thank you for the review.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the positive comments. Keeps us going. Very happy I was able to help you. I feel like we must be doing something right with all the positivity coming our way 🙂

      Reply
  5. It sounds like my kind of lawnmower. I really enjoyed the depths of this review. Looking at all the features and weighing pros and cons. I mean, I think it’s how every review should be written. But many aren’t. Which is such a shame and I feel is such a waste of time for readers. So unlike this one.

    I loved the warrantees and all that. I loved the durability. The pros were great, nice, and awesome (I most enjoyed the quality battery). And the cons I can definitely live with (yeah, tall grass may not be as fun to do with this one). 

    Other than that, I’m also happy to hear that it is dead easy to set up. 

    Thank you, Crystal! I appreciate this.

    Cheers.

    Reply
  6. THANKS for this amazingly detailed review, i almost feel like i have one already. The snapper cordless electric self propelled lawn mower is really ideal for private residence primarily because of the ease of assembly, use and maintenance. The slow availability of the blade is the only concern one may have but going by the fact that it Comes with a 5 years warranty, the confidence remains intact. Please can you share approximately how much it would cost to get a spare blade in advance?

    Reply
    • Hey there,

      Thanks for the feedback.

      I think I saw somewhere that the blades cost between $15 – $20, but please call Snapper to confirm the exact price.

      Reply
  7. You really made a very nice and detailed review. I am considering in putting lawn around my country house and I am looking lately for a lawn mower and what is out there as I really don’t have a clue about this market. This one really picked my interest and I will surely give it a second thought.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.